Skip to content

#diffimooc Favorite Take Aways

February 20, 2013

What are your overall take-aways from the methods/tools that you might use to differentiate the classroom environment (for teacher productivity and student progression)? Which of these may you use in your classroom in the future?

There have been so many choices, the hardest part of these past few weeks has been sifting through and picking a few to try out. I of course wish I could just use them all at once! I did start a whole new page called Technology to Explore just to have a place to record all the new things I have been hearing about. I wanted to record them so that I didn’t forget them. Now I can come back to my list and explore them as needed.

From a teacher perspective, I have found many useful tools. I have been using Pinterest to search for teaching ideas. I love Evernote and Skitch for recording my own notes about students as well as student “artifacts” (such as artwork, voice recordings and work samples). I was happy to discover that CloudOn brought Microsoft Word to my Ipad and I have learned to use Dropbox.Another potentially useful tool that I am just beginning to look into is the google drive.

With my students, I use various apps. on the Ipad for differentiation. Many are free reading games for developing sight words or phonics. There are fun math games in which I can adjust the level of difficulty depending on who is playing. I have just discovered the show me app. and hope to use it with my students this week. I am also hoping to make a Voicethread of a puppet show my students are doing.

I did read The Dark Side of MOOCS and I am really hoping that I am in the 5% that make it through. I can’t help but wonder if the percentage for completion is so low because so many people sign up. If you are not paying, you are free to pursue other interests as they come up. I wonder if people will join MOOCS like they do Twitter Groups. I sure am learning a lot from our diffimooc. It is fun to hear everyone’s perspectives and different areas of expertise. I have found it necessary to try and focus my energies in the direction of what is applicable to the primary grades in part because that is where I teach, but also just because there is too much to take in all at once.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. What’s your experience with Google Drive vs. Dropbox? It seems like Dropbox is more supported by IOS applications. Google Drive docs can be edited in Google Apps from a web browser although when I last checked editing spreadsheets was limited and balky feeling.

  2. Thanks Colin. Good to know. I don’t have much experience with either. Just beginning to use them.

  3. I have been finding google drive to be useful as it archives all the google docs so easily. Google forms is also a good tool, as well as edmodo quiz feature. I though Skitch would be useful for your grade level, glad you are finding it useful. I had the same thought about the 5% completion of the moocs. I know most if not all the teachers taking this for course credit will finish. I am really curious how this course concept will evolve.

Leave a Reply

WeiszED

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

tpaukan

This WordPress.com site is for UAS ED 637

The Few, the Proud, the Edumacated

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Technology in Mathematics and Education

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

tbrooke2324

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Posts of edet637

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Portable Possibilities - Link to Kidblog!

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Mrs. Pickrell's Technology Adventure

I'm going on a technology adventure! Let's get global!

Molly Hale ED637

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Math Spring of 2013 - Blog

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Learning to swim

#diffimooc Blog for UAS EDMA 658

Kathy Port's DiffiMOOC

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

grannynannycook

This WordPress.com site is about living and learning one click at a time.

Exploring Differentiation with Technology - Blog

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Dream Catcher

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Donna's Blog

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

Diane's Blog

Science Teaching and Learning !

Azhar's Reflections

A Journey Into the Digital World or ED658

